Christopher Lee is Dead? He Is Absolutely No Such Thing

 

The Man From the Hornet writes…

 

At lunchtime yesterday the news came through that the actor Sir Christopher Lee had passed away. He was 93.

 

I was with The Guv’nor when the news broke and we reminisced about Lee’s screen performances. We talked of his dignity. His power. And, of course, his style. We resolved to have a think about a fitting tribute from The Hornet, which we will post at a later date.

 

All through the day I talked with the people that I met about Sir Christopher Lee and his movies. Everyone had a memory of him.

 

On a Thursday I always get home late. The last stage of my journey takes me through the local churchyard. Although it is dark, it only takes thirty seconds and saves me time at the end of the day. It is a shortcut and I have been taking it for years without batting an eyelid.

Until last night. When this image came surging forth in my mind…

Dracula

Like so many kids I was occasionally allowed to stay up late and watch scary movies on TV. And I had forgotten – until last night – just how truly terrifying Lee’s Dracula appeared to me back then. And not just back then, either. Last night my heart quickened along with my step and I was through the graveyard in record time without a backward glance.

I’ll be frank: it was a poor show from a grown man.

 

And it made me think: Don’t believe everything you hear in the news.

 

Christopher Lee is dead, is he? Just you wait until nightfall, my friend. Just you wait…

 

www.hornetskensington.co.uk

Hornets Kensington Shop Online

 

Leave a Reply

