Royal Wedding Style III

The Man From the Hornet on weddings…

“Before I was married, all I ever knew about marriage, I learned from the movies. Movies such as Four Weddings and a Funeral. Or Kramer versus Kramer. On second thoughts, strike that last one. Replace it with From Russia With Love.

Yup, I once thought that I could pick up valuable tips for the most important day of my life from a James Bond film.

In From Russia With Love, Sean Connery’s Bond goes undercover as a married man. His bride, of course, is a blindingly gorgeous blonde Russian spy (played by Daniela Bianchi). The minute the pair are alone, she jumps into the sack clad in nothing but a choker, an exotically alluring Eastern Bloc smile and possibly a dab of Chanel.

“I like your trousseau,” says Bond (only, being Sean Connery, he said “Trooshow”).

The scene obviously made something of an impression. How much of an impression I didn’t realise until, nearly 20 years later, when it dropped straight from my brain and out of my mouth in a conversation with my fiancee’s mother about the future Mrs Man From The Hornet’s trousseau.

“Oh don’t worry about the trousseau,” I announced, blithely imagining a short length of black ribbon and a spot of velcro, “I’ll get that…”

The derisory laughter is set to ring out around Christmas dinner tables for ‘as long as we both shall live’.”

www.hornetskensington.co.uk

Hornets Vintage the Online Shop